Public Utilities Development Review

Our purpose is to assist developers, design professionals, contractors and property owners with the applicable engineering practices, regulatory requirements, and departmental standards regarding connections to our water, sanitary sewer and storm drainage systems.

Development Review Engineers

Brad Stewart, PE – ph. 801 483-6733 (brad.stewart@slcgov.com)
Brad is the Manager of the Development Review Team for the Department (including inspectors for private development projects). Brad also is the point of contact for projects such as the University of Utah and the City Creek Reserve project and handles the review of all riparian permit applications.

Jason Draper, PE – ph. 801 483-6751 (jason.draper@slcgov.com)

Jason is in charge of the City’s storm water quality program and it the Floodplain Program Manager. Please contact Jason if you have questions related to SWPPP or storm water pretreatment. Jason also provides review services for industrial, commercial, and residential projects. He is a utility representative in the Building Department’s “one-stop” center and provides consultation services to assist in the development and approval of projects.

Natalie Moore, EIT – ph. 801 483-6737 (natalie.moore@slcgov.com)
Natalie provides review services for new residential and commercial developments within Salt Lake City boundaries and throughout the water service area outside of the City.  She also provides information and review services for projects impacting the City-owned canals. Natalie is a utility representative in the Building Department’s “one-stop” center and provides consultation services to assist in the development and approval of projects.
 
Blayde McIntire, EIT – ph. 801-483-6758 (blayde.mcintire@slcgov.com)
Blayde provides review services for industrial, commercial, and residential projects. He is a utility representative in the Building Department’s “one-stop” center and provides consultation services to assist in the development and approval of projects.
 

Contracts and Construction Office - Permits & Fees

Contact the Contracts Office for questions regarding main extension agreements, bond releases, and Certificate of Occupancy, permits, and fees associated with the permits.

Peggy Garcia- Utility Development Review Coordinator – 801 483-6727 (peggy.garcia@slcgov.com)

Kathy Charles - Utility Development Review Specialist – 801 483-6764 (kathleen.charles@slcgov.com)

Bruce Leaf - Contracts Service Representative – 801 483-6762 (bruce.leaf@slcgov.com)

Vicki Cowles - Contracts Service Representative - 801 483-6725 (vick.cowles@slcgov.com)

fax: 801 483-6855

Other Contacts

Karryn Greenleaf – Canyon Water Right and Property Agent / Grama – 801 483-6769 (karryn.greenleaf@slcgov.com)
for assistance with Public Utilities owned property or easements. Karryn is also the point of contact for GRAMA requests or Canyon Water Sales or Jordan Salt Lake City Canal Use permits.

Andra Ahrens – Pretreatment Program Manager – 801 799-4041 (andra.ahrens@slcgov.com)
Contact Andra with questions related to sanitary sewer pretreatment and sampling.
 
Dave Pearson, PE – 801-483-6738 (david.pearson@slcgov.com)
Dave is the City’s street light program manager. He reviews for development projects pertaining to street lights only.  Please contact Dave if you have questions related to street lights.
 
Kim Hills – Cross Connection Control Manager – 801 483-6795 (kim.hills@slcgov.com)
Contact Kim with questions related to backflow prevention on water systems.
 

Development Review Process

The following flow chart has been developed to guide an applicant through the development review and permitting process. 

General Links:

Salt Lake City Department of Public Utilities General Notes (DOC)
Salt Lake City Building Design and Processes Guide "Design Standards Document"

Salt Lake City Public Utilities Standard Practices Book (PDF)
APWA Current Standard Plans and Specifications
Jordan & Salt Lake Canal Design Criteria and Submittal Requirements
Application for Review (PDF)

Water Links:

 
Sanitary Sewer Links:

Sewer District Boundary - SLCPU sewer service boundary
Pretreatment Survey (PDF)

Sewer Ejector Pump Form (PDF)
Grease Trap Sizing worksheet (XLSX) or Grease Trap Sizing worksheet (PDF)
Grease Interceptor Sizing worksheet (XLSX) or Grease Interceptor Sizing worksheet (PDF)

Storm Water Links:

Floodplain Permit (PDF)
Drainage Study Checklist (PDF)
Stormwater Pollution Prevention Plans Information
Stormwater Small Construction Notice of Termination (NOT)
Stormwater Small Construction Permit Notice of Intention (NOI) 
Storm Drains:  Do you know where the water (and any debris) goes?