Boards and Commissions - Transportation Advisory Board

Transportation Advisory Board

The Transportation Advisory Board (TAB) was created by City Council ordinance in 1997 to provide recommendations to the Transportation Division, Mayor, and City Council regarding transportation decisions and issues affecting Salt Lake City.

Agendas and Minutes

Agendas posted through Utah Public Meeting Notice

Powers and Duties

  1. Monitor progress and assist in updating the City's transportation master plan
  2. Review local and regional transportation issues and make recommendations to the transportation director, mayor or city council
  3. Monitor and make recommendations regarding the crossing guard program
  4. Help develop travel demand management strategies and encourage the use of nonautomotive transportation
  5. Promote public education of transportation issues affecting the city
  6. Provide recommendations regarding priority and funding of transportation related capital improvement projects and programs.

Member Qualifications

The Transportation Advisory Board consists of up to 15 members, each serving three-year terms. 
Membership consists of one resident from each of the City's eight planning districts, one at large member to represent the Northwest Quadrant Planning District, one representative of college level transportation academia, one representative of a business-oriented organization actively involved in transportation issues affecting SLC, and one representative of the Salt Lake City School District. Other individuals representing organizations with continuing interest and involvement in City transportation issues may be appointed members. The Transportation Director and a representative of the Salt Lake City Police Department are ex officio members of the Board. 

Current Members


Serving Since

Planning District / Organization

Reid Ewing 2014 Academia
Andrea Olson 2012 Avenues
Todd Hadden 2015 Bicycle Advisory Committee Vice-Chair
Vacant 2012 Business
Vacant   Capitol Hill
Vacant   Central City
Vacant   East Bench
Courtney Reeser 2016 Northwest
Vacant   Northwest Quadrant/At Large
Paul Schulte   SLC School District
Whitney Ward 2012 Sugar House
Daniel Page 2014 UDOT
Hal Johnson 2012 UTA
Vacant   West Salt Lake














Staff and Officers

Whitney Ward, Chair
Courtney Reeser, Vice Chair
Kevin Young, Interim Transportation Director

Meeting information

Period — Monthly 
Days — First Monday 
Time — 4:00 pm 
Location — 349 S 200 E, Ste 150
Salt Lake City, UT 84111 
More info (801) 535-6630 

Bylaws and Governing Documents

Click here to read.

Contact Information

Transportation Advisory Board
Attn: Kevin Young
349 S 200 E, Ste 150
Salt Lake City, UT 84111 
(801) 535-7108

Staff Support

Kevin Young
Interim Transportation Director
(801) 535-7108
Amy Lyons
Office Facilitator
(801) 535-6630
Lt. John Beener
SLCPD - Ex Officio Member
(801) 799-3597