Compliance - Parking Information Brochure

Click here for a printable version of the brochure

There are many areas in Salt Lake City that have posted, or signed, parking restrictions. Before parking and leaving your car, take a moment to read and obey any posted parking signs.

Two Hour Parking Zone. Two hour time restrictions apply according to times posted on each sign.
 
 
Handicapped Zone. A valid disabled designated vehicle plate or placard is required. Normally time restrictions are for two hours. Placards are to be properly displayed and visible at all times on the front rear view mirror or dash board.
 
         
Passenger Loading Zone. Posted throughout the city in designated areas. Driver must remain in vehicle.   45' Parking Only
         
Back-In Parking Only. Posted throughout the city in designated areas and require back-in parking only.  
 
No Parking Zone. No parking in either direction at anytime.
         
Bus Stop - No Parking. "No parking" restrictions apply.   No Parking on Walkway. "No parking" restrictions apply. This sign is visible throughout the city medians and center parking zones.
         
Parallel Parking Only.   Freight Zone. Time restrictions are limited to 30 minutes. Requires a current Salt Lake City Freight License that is issued to vehicles that require delivery, or loading/unloading. Designated hours of operation are posted on each sign.
         
Residential Parking Permit. Requires a current Residential Parking Permit on driver's side of front window.      

Frequently Asked Questions:

Salt Lake City Ordinance references are in parentheses below. Please refer to the ordinance for more specific information.  City Ordinances may be found by clicking here.

How Long can vehicles be parked on public streets?

See City ordinance. (12.56.520, 12.56.525)

No person shall park a vehicle, boat, trailer, or other item upon any street for a period of time longer than 48 hours. Click for more...
Icon: 
/i/icons/accordion-items/arrow1.jpg
How close can vehicles be parked to a fire hydrant?

The distance is measured from the center of the fire hydrant and measured for 5 feet in both directions on the curb. There does not need to be a sign or red curb for a vehicle to be in violation. If a vehicle is parked within 5 feet it is in violation of city ordinance. (12.56.440-5)

Vehicles may not be parked within 5 feet of a fire hydrant. Click for more...
Icon: 
/i/icons/accordion-items/arrow1.jpg
What are the State of Utah Vehicle Registration and display of license plates laws?

Display in the proper position on the outside of the vehicle two valid, unexpired registration plates, one on the front and one on the rear.

 
When required, current validation or indicia of registration must be attached to the rear plate in a manner complying with the laws of the state of Utah, and be free from defacement, mutilation, grease, and other obscuring materials, so as to be plainly visible and legible at all times.
 
Vehicles with expired registrations the day after the expired registration are in violation of city ordinance and are subject to citation under city and state code. Vehicles with registrations that have been expired more than 3 months are subject to impound. (12.56.040)
Be registered in the name of the owner in accordance with the laws of Utah, unless such vehicle is not required by Utah law to be registered in Utah. Click for more...
Icon: 
/i/icons/accordion-items/arrow1.jpg
What are the standards for posted Freight Zones?

Freight Zone licenses are issued to vehicles that require delivery, or loading/unloading. Time restrictions are limited to 30 minutes. Only Salt Lake City issued freight licenses are valid. For further details and criteria regarding issuance of a freight license please contact the Transportation Office at (801) 535-6630.

Numerous Freight Zone areas are posted throughout the city. Click for more...
Icon: 
/i/icons/accordion-items/arrow1.jpg
What are Residential Parking Permits?

 

Visit the transportation website for cost and other information.  Permits require the following criteria:
  • A current and valid driver’s license
  • Current registration
  • Proof of residency
Any vehicle that is parked in a Residential Parking Permitted area that does not have a current permit, visitors pass (valid for up to 30 days) or guest pass (valid for up to two days) displayed properly is in violation of city ordinance. (12.56.300) Residential Parking Permits are issued at the Transportation Office located at 349 South 200 East, Room 450, Salt Lake City, UT. 84111, (801) 535-6630 or www.slcgov.com/transportation
Residential Parking Permits (RPP) are issued to residents in certain areas of the city and are enforced by time limits. Click for more...
Icon: 
/i/icons/accordion-items/arrow1.jpg
What are the rules for persons with disabilities?

Parking for persons with disabilities is available on both public and private property. Parking spaces reserved for persons with disabilities are posted with the international disabled designation and have a two hour time limit. These spaces are in effect during “ALL HOURS” and only vehicles bearing an authorized state disabled registration license plate or temporary placard are allowed to park in these designated spaces. Out of state disabled license plates and placards are also honored. Citizens with disabled designated vehicles may park at any metered space, time restricted zone, or freight/passenger loading zone for up to two hours. Disabled designated vehicles MAY NOT park in any safety or restricted parking areas. It is a violation of city ordinance to park in a zone reserved for persons with disabilities without the proper disabled designation. (12.56.120, 12.56.130)

Special parking for persons with disabilities is provided throughout the city and such persons also receive special considerations for posted and meter parking. Click for more...
Icon: 
/i/icons/accordion-items/arrow1.jpg
What are meters that are “Red Bagged”?

Red Bagged meters signify “No Parking” to the public. There are no exceptions. If a citizen is parked at a Red Bagged meter the vehicle is subject to impound and is in violation of city ordinance. (12.56.210)

A Red Bagged meter is a reserved meter that can be purchased by individuals, construction organizations, and/or special events sponsors for a specified amount of time through the Transportation Office. Click for more...
Icon: 
/i/icons/accordion-items/arrow1.jpg
How do I contact Parking Enforcement with a parking complaint?

You may also file a complaint via our online form.  We can better serve you if you provide the following information: Parking Complaints Address License plate number Make, model, and color of vehicle. The nature of the problem. If you are reporting an abandoned vehicle please include how long the vehicle has been parked in that location.

Citizens may contact the Parking Enforcement Office via email at slcparking@slcgov.com, or by calling the Parking Enforcement Office at (801) 535-6628. Click for more...
Icon: 
/i/icons/accordion-items/arrow1.jpg
How do I contest a parking ticket?

Please refer to the Parking/Civil Unit webpage.  You may also contact them at parking@slcgov.com

Please refer to the Salt Lake City Parking/Civil Unit webpage. Click for more...
Icon: 
/i/icons/accordion-items/arrow1.jpg